top of page

Interview: Shelia Moore-Piper, Christian Soul Artist.


Pam Jones is a writer and founding owner of River & Word Magazine living in Houston. Her blog writings are known across the social media, and in the River & Word Magazine. She has often been asked to write reviews for authors, producers and singers. Twitter: @pamsriver facebook/pam.mayesjones.1 https://www.linkedin.com/in/pam-jones-082337144

www.riverandwordmagazine.com

To share this article: riverandwordmagazine.com/blog

I have often wondered what artist were like growing up. In general, most artist started singing, dancing or playing an instrument as a child. But what were the artist like outside of music? In life we are bound to find trouble, even as an adult. Shelia Moore-Piper found trouble trying to do the right thing. She apparently cut down tree limbs and put them in the wrong place. "The most trouble I ever gotten into is when me and my hubby moved into our house 12 years ago. We cut down some tree limbs and put them on the curb before I knew what the guidelines were. The person in charge of our neighborhood at the time, put a ticket on our house. It was super expensive! I prayed and prayed! When I got to court, I sat there nervous, when the judge called me up, she asked the guy for the pictures of the tree limbs that were put on the curve of our driveway. He didn’t have any, he couldn’t prove I did it, so the judge dismiss the case Praise God! Needless to say, I never did that again!"(Moore-Piper)

As success comes, things will change, and our desires, likes and needs will change along with our new found fame. Most of us have things we just can't live without, and Shelia is no different, because she will not live without her Bible App, music in her phone, cute purses, sweet tea with ice and a pedicure. She also lives by her motto: "Success is not a destination, It's a journey".

Most singers have an artist song that they will sing, and Shelia's artist is Nat King Cole. Oh yes, I will have to agree with her, because he was a smooth singer with a lot of swag. What is the song Shelia sings? "Unforgettable", an old time favorite for most people.

In order for anyone to be successful, they have to set goals. In ten years from now, Shelia hopes to be financially wealthy, as well as Spiritually prosperous!

For our readers who have never heard Shelia Moore-Piper's music, She explained her sound in 5 words: 1. Soulful 2. Unique 3. Amazing 4. Godly 5. Jazzy. Jazzy is the first word I said, after I saw her video, "Get Excited". Shelia owns her set with her stylish dress, energy and vocals that sounds like heaven! She is a faithful singer and supporter of other artist, because if you were to turn on her ipod right now, the five artists/songs you would see on her recently played list, in this order, are Shelia Moore-Piper, Donnie McClurkin, Carmen, Jonathan McReynolds and Wynton Marsalis. In addition to liking the artist on her ipod, if Shelia could open for an artist on tour, it be Take 6 and or

Bruno Mars. I personally love that Bruno Mars, the young man is holding it up for both generations! Anyone know him? I have got to write an interview on him and get him in the magazine...give him my contact information, please! (Smiles)

I love to ask personal things that readers like to learn, to learn more about Shelia, I asked her what was her favorite thing to do when she wasn't writing/producing/playing etc? These are a few things she likes to do, watching TV one television show called “Unsung” and Western Movies, said Shelia. When she is writing, Shelia said, "My inspiration comes from being in a situation or going through a situation that God help is needed tremendously! My favorite part about the process is the rough draft that was written now becomes a song that must be recorded and once released, how God uses it to bless others as well as myself"

I have yet to meet any artist that will not get nervous. I am a dancer, and as many years as I have danced, I still get nervous! Well of course I had to ask Shelia if she got nervous and her answer was,

"Yes Indeed (Smile)" !!!!

Shelia, I certainly enjoyed the interview and we pray God's blessings on you and your music career. The River & Word family wishes you much success!

Pam J

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page