top of page

Article: In Loving Memory of Christopher Paul Kirksey


I received a direct message from the author, Gregory D. Anderson Jr., informing me of Kirksey's unexpected passing. I could tell it troubled Anderson, as well as myself because it hits home when someone passes...it could have been one of us! The passing of a friend or loved one should make us want to get it right with God or at least check in with the master. We should want to get things in line and done, especially the will of God for your life...the call! Wondering about the call? Grammy-nominated Isabel Davis has a beautiful CD about the Call, and you may purchase it in River & Word Magazine's Christmas Catalog (riverandwordmagazine.com)...and no I am not capitalizing on this, I mentioned it to help all of us get in check and be ready when God calls us home. A dear friend, Georgia Noone-Sherrod, spoke so well about Christopher on a Facebook post, and here is what she had to say:

"So where do I begin???? Our childhood friend, adopted brother, brother from another mother, classmate, Christopher Kirksey May you rest peacefully in heaven. George called me “G, Don’t know if you’ve heard the news but...” I received a call earlier from my sister-in-law Jennifer Hoareau-Floyd George’s wife trying to give me a heads up. She didn’t want me to find out by seeing the news on Facebook. Man, my heart hurts... I can’t get my mind around this one. The last conversation I had with Chris was great! He was so excited about his life, his kids, his grandkids, the possibilities. Here is a young man who dreamed big! Chris started a magazine way back in the day before we finished college. I remember driving back and forth to Houston, going on photo shoots, finding vendors to loan him their designs, recruiting models, etc. all with little money but with a deep confidence that he could do it. He loved journalism and believed in his calling. Chris was told, “you can’t do this, you can’t do that.” Nothing deterred this dude from his dreams. NOTHING and no one. He could not be shaken from his vision. We lost touch for a short time and one day like he was never absent, Chris was back. I mean I recall my dad telling Chris “Boy why are your feet always underneath my table?” He would laugh and say “Oh Mr. Floyd.”Chris was always one of a kind. Maryanne made him think that he was special and he was. Chris dressed different, he had different dreams and his calling was higher than most. He was loved. Chris was devoted to everyone he loved and he gave 100% of himself to whatever he was doing. I can't recall knowing anyone else like him. I don’t remember a time when we were not talking about our dreams, family, and friendship. If I could turn back time, your laugh would be one of the familiar sounds in my ear. Your grin, fast-talking, or made up funny walk would be one of the many highlights of the day at the end of the day. A late night caravan of cars riding over the bridge to Lake Charles with Lisa, James, Shawn, or any number of our classmates where inevitably someone would get a flat tire or a ticket is the memories, not even death can take away. I miss you, my friend!!!!". (Georgia Noone-Sherrod, 2018).

Old friend, that is a beautiful thing when a person passes, because not everyone is a good and true friend. What will be said of you in your passing? 1 Timothy 6:18, that they do good, that they are rich in good works, ready to distribute, willing to communicate. Christopher had to have been a Timothy because I am hearing nothing but good things about him. Author and motivational speaker, Gregory D. Anderson, CEO of TAM, spoke well of Christopher Paul Kirksey, and I was moved with compassion for the loss of his friend. I have known Gregory going on a year and we met at a Houston Alliance event, in which we are both members under President Angela Bennett. Gregory is a powerful motivational speaker and an equally gifted writer. When he asked if I would do a special salute or something to honor his friend, I didn't hesitate, because, like Christopher, Gregory has proven to be a good friend and continually speaks into my life and offers sound advice for our magazine, River & Word Magazine (riverandwordmagazine.com).

Listen to an awesome platform "Greg Speaks Live", Hosted by Gregory D. Anderson Jr., as he interviews the late Christopher Paul Kirksey;

Click on the pic to listen to the podcast

I encourage you to follow Gregory D. Anderson Jr., CEO of The Anger Managers, author and motivational speaker.

Farewell to a man that could be called a good friend by many. I pray that God comforts the hearts of Christopher Paul Kirksey's family and friend, while he gives strength to all who mourn the passing of a great man. Amen

Pam J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page