top of page

Interview: Gospel Artist, REE


Pam Jones is a writer and founding owner of

River & Word Magazine, Houston, Texas.

Pam Jones blogs writings are known across the social media,

and in the River & Word Magazine.

She is often asked to write reviews for authors,

actors, producers and singers.

Twitter: @pamsriver

Facebook: /pam.mayesjones.1

Linkedin:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/pam-jones-082337144

Website: www.riverandwordmagazine.com

To share this article: riverandwordmag

I absolutely love Ree's singing style. My favorite song is "Middle of It." When I listened to that song, it was as if Ree was singing my story, but isn't that just like God to stir us, turn us around or deliver us right in the middle of it?

As with any artist, we want to know how they got started, who influenced them and their overall experiences as a recording artist. When I asked Ree questions about her journey from childhood to an artist , here is what she had too say...

I can recall being a little girl, living with Mom and sneaking to listen to the secular stations on the radio. Mom was really strict so that was a definite no-no.

Well, while listening, I would often times write down the lyrics to the songs. This one particular song has very vulgar and offensive language, but at the time was a very popular track. I must have left my notebook, because Mom found it, made me read it to her, word verbatim and then to the Mother of our Church. Oh, yes, and I got a whooping, said Ree.

Ree's key essentials are music, MAC Makeup, ginger-ale, bottled water and peace.

Ree's favorite song to belt out in the car is You Loved Me -Celene Dion. Yes, I love Celene, she is like an elogant swan.

In general, we all have something we stand for or live by, and the motto or the advice Ree lives by is "Stay In Your Lane."

To continually grow, reach our goals, and complete task, we all need to have long term goals. In ten years, Ree said, I'll still be ministering and empowering others. I'll be prepping to be an empty nester as my boys leave the house. I'll be secured even deeper in my calling.

For our readers, who have never heard her music, Ree explained her sound in 5 words,

Neo-Soul Worship, Jazz, Unique, Soothing and Thought Provoking, Yes, I have to agree with her way of expressing her music. She is a phenominal artist.

If Ree turned on her ipod right now, the five artists or songs you would see, on her recently played list, are Ree, Instrumentals, Akeem Brodie (Kingdom Restoration), Kara Nichole (Happy) and Tripp Lee.

Ree's favorite thing to do when she isn’t writing, producing or playing is relaxing with my family. That's where I draw my peace, said Ree.

When I asked Ree if she wrote her own music; where she drew inspiration from when she wrote songs and what is her favorite part about the process, she had this to say:

I hear songs completely. They usually come in dreams, where I have to get up quick and record them. My favorite process is in hearing what started personally between the Holy Spirit and I, come to life as the producer plays it out. (REE 2017)

In the past year, I have only had one artist say that they don't get nervous before performing. Ree said, I Rarely, do I get nervous. When I am unfocused it occurs. As long as I am focused on my purpose and assignment, nervousness doesn't exist.

Our whole purpose in life is to be a witness to others and help the next generation come up. Ree has this advice for up coming artist, "Stay in your Lane, find and know who you are. Stay focused on what you're doing and never forget the "why". Be who God called YOU to be, that's what makes you who you are."

I am so pleased to see an artist that is real, down to earth and such a blessing to the gospel industry. Ree, I bless God for you and pray much ,as you keep being a great example to others through your music.

Pam J,

River & Word Magazine


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page