top of page

Interview: Vocalist, Co-Owner of a Record LabeL & Writer Clareta Haddon


River & Word Magazine, Houston, Texas.

Pam Jones blogs writings are known across social media, and in the River & Word Magazine.

She is often asked to write reviews or articles for authors, actors, producers and singers.

Twitter: @pamsriver

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pam.mayesjones.1

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/riverandword/

Linkedin:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/pam-jones-082337144

Website: www.riverandwordmagazine.com

To share this article: riverandwordmag

Before I even begin writing about Clareta Haddon, I have to comment on her picture. I love the sheer flowing fabric because it reminds me of a river! She is the second prophetically anointed ministering woman I have heard of. The first is a lady with pink hair, but coloring her hair pink was what God told her to do. Did the pink hair work? Yes! She has drawn more people to the kingdom of God than most churches. When I look at Clareta Haddon's hair, I see what God is doing. A person would have to be courageous and bold enough to color their hair blue, when most churches would frown about it.

Let's meet this dynamic woman of God, Mrs. Clareta Haddon Jackson, a vocalist, writer and co-producer, as well as a mom and wife. She wears many hats, but God has anointed her to wear them well. Clareta has a singing style that takes you into another realm as she disappears and allows the spirit to take over. When she is on stage, she is no longer her own, and she is yielding herself to the Lord to allow heaven to sing and minister through her voice. The anointing of heaven flows through this powerful singer like that blue flowing sheer. One thing I have learned about heaven is there is a river that flows down through us, if we are a yielded vessel.

Clareta explained her music as being a way to communicate with God. "Once I sing a song I disappear, someone else is navigating this body, I don't really remember what I did".

Clareta Haddon was with Mr. Porter, a producer of the platinum group "D12". She had an amazing experience, and had no idea she would work with that big of an artist. Clareta has an awesome background of great experiences from landing features on film soundtracks with some heavy weights. She created music with Slaughterhouse when they needed a hook; Slaughterhouse is a hip hop super-group consisting of rappers.

While Clareta was working with Mr. Porter, she got to sing with Eminem, work with Dr. Dre and Ludacris. Eminem loved her songs so much that he said, 'anything you have with her voice on it use it', so she got to sing on one of his songs. Now the church would frown on it, but how many of you know that God knows the whole plan that He has for YOU? Clareta had suffered with depression but God delivered her from it! When several people that were about to commit suicide or were depressed heard her voice, they decided to live!

"For my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts are higher than your thoughts, saith the Lord". Amen! Thank God for using this anointed woman to save souls with her blue hair and edgy singing!!

Clareta's anointing was so strong that it caused an artist to re-open his closed song to include lyrics that she and her husband were working on in their living room.

The day came for Clareta to sing her lyrics, but she was nervous and kept messing up, so she said, "Get Out Of Here"! The artist wanted to know what she said, and she told him she was praying, and Eminem, the artist, said, 'Put it at the front of the record'. That was what the people heard and they decided to live and overcame their depression. Wow! What an anointing and testimony.

Sometimes God will do a new thing, and it is in the behold all things are made new, that the church will reject because they haven't grown into the new things. God is life and a creator, and doing things the same old way will kill the church and the soul of people. Bless God for bold people like Clareta!!

"I want to make music with a song that is so pure it's undeniable! Church didn't understand a regular singer that wasn't 'church', because 7 years ago before Life Movement was popular, the church couldn't understand it".

I have to agree with Clareta, a pure holy sound that can make you lose yourself in God and get carried away by His spirit! Wow! I am ready for that kind of music. As a prophetic dancer, I understand disappearing into the spirit of the Lord. Many times when I would minister prophetically, I wouldn't be in the room anymore. People would actually come tell me they didn't see me and I just disappeared into my flags. I was so humbled that God would move through me like that for His people. When you put yourself out of it, the spirit of God can take over and move over His church.

After many years and trials, Clareta could not get the gospel industry to buy her music, and they would say, 'its too racy and edgy'. She pitched herself, but the gospel records weren't buying because they didn't know how to sell it. However, God had a plan, and after speaking with her husband, they both decided to start their own record label, "Portal Records". The label was birthed out of opposition from her look and her sound. The gospel records could have asked the holy ghost, and he would have given them the idea, but it is okay, because look at what God did.

As most know, Clareta Haddon comes from a musical family of top performers and award winners. Deitrick, Gerald and David are her brothers, in which she described the family as having chemistry and connection on stage. Clareta said, I haven't seen the chemistry and connection like ours except for the Clarke Sister's and the Winnan's. She said, working with family is a great experience, but rough when you are trying to figure out who you are. Clareta advises singers not to get stuck in the shadow or comfortable in support.

I asked Clareta to take us way back to that moment when she first belted out the sound that made everyone wonder, 'was that little Clareta' or 'where did that sound come from?' She was 3 years old and literally remembered her first solo at church. Her dad told her all week long it was her time, and she couldn't be afraid. He stood her on the platform and she sang "Amazing Grace". I was amazed at a 3 year old girl singing Amazing Grace with such anointing, and needless to say, her dad got her started in the music business. She started writing songs at 8 years old and her dad took her to the famous organist, Nemrod Lumpkin. He was her dad's organist. She recorded her first song, and traveled around singing.

Fast forward, Clareta Haddon Jackson has a song out that brought me to tears, "Come Through", because it reminded me of all the things God had brought me through.

Come Through is Clareta's favorite, because it encouraged her when she felt like, 'God when are you going to do it for me, when is it going to be my turn?'

As a dancer, I am always looking for that anointed song and when I heard Clareta's song, Contagious - My Prayer, I wanted to pick up my flags and start dancing!! I also love her song, "The Light", this song made me want to worship God!

Clareta will be in Houston with her brother Deitrick Haddon at Hill City for The Merge event:

My sister, I admire your boldness and welcome your anointing to speak over me anytime. God has truly favored you and poured out His anointing on you. Keep doing what God tells you and I am in agreement with you!

God Bless you and your minister of music,

Pam J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page