top of page

Interview: Award Winning Recording Artist, Codie Prevost


I first met Codie Prevost through Twitter; He had followed me and I checked him out. I found Codie to be an upright guy with a kindness about him, so I followed back and supported him by re-tweeting. On one of Codie’s post, I saw he had won an award for his music, and as most know, I am a big supporter of recording artist. Naturally, I reached out to Codie for an interview.

I know the first thing a recording artist would ask is how to get into rotation.

Codie said, getting into rotation on a radio station has changed quite a bit with the technological advancements. The radio at first was only available through the radio in your car or home, but now has expanded to satellite radio, internet radio, and other forms. Artists have a huge advantage in getting their music heard, as there is now more than one form of radio. If you’re a new artist starting out, you may want to focus more on internet radio as there are far more channels to be heard on, and it can also be much more cost effective and get your music heard all over the world.

One question I love to ask is 'when did you first start singing, and what inspired you to sing?'

Codie replied, "When I was younger, my mom and uncle would perform at family events. I remember watching the smiles and joy music would bring to people in those moments by just using 3 chords and some lyrics. I was intrigued and knew from that moment I wanted to learn how to play and sing with the possibility of one day carrying on the tradition of bringing people together with the power of music."

Next, I wanted to know who was Codie’s mentor, and what is the best advice they gave him?

“I started working with my manager, Alain Leblanc, when starting my career. The one thing he said that stuck with me was “what energy you put in will reflect exactly what you get out of music or anything you want to achieve”. This has been my go to phrase”, said Codie.

Most artists get excited when they hear their music on the radio for the first time. I was curious about how Codie felt hearing his music being played on the radio for the very first time.

“I recall driving down the road on route to a show listening to the radio in my car. I remember the radio host announcing my name and saying it was my debut track. I pulled over and cranked up the radio. It was definitely one of the coolest feelings I’ve experienced in music!" Codie said.

Many artists write their own music, and Codie is no different; he writes a lot of his songs. He said, “I get inspiration from TV, Magazines, Other People, Life Experiences, etc. I started writing at the age of 16 and just stuck with it. I found it was a great way to express what I was feeling and at the same time connect with other people going through similar experiences”.

So, you are an award-winning recording artist (Congrats!!)...what is next for Codie Prevost?

“I just released my brand new album “RADIO”. It’s my 5th studio album. I have tour dates coming up and am working on my very 1st official fan club that will be launched very soon”, announced Codie. If you want to learn more and follow Codie, you can find all the tour dates, info, and music including his new album “RADIO” at www.codieprevost.com.

I asked Codie to give advice to upcoming recording artists, and he said, “ If you’re a new artist looking to start a career, perform, perform, and perform. You may have to do some free and promo shows to get started, but just do it. You could also do some live shows on the Internet using streaming. Remember, don’t just do a show to do a show, but try to grow a mailing list of fans and supporters. Always be engaging with your fans as they are the foundation to your music career. Continue to engage and appreciate these supporters and you will be able to continue doing music for years to come!"

Website: https://www.codieprevost.com

Twitter: @codieprevost ‏

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=codie+prevost+radio

Codie, I am so happy for you and pray much success on your new album and for the radio. If I can help you in any way through the magazine, please let me know.

Pam J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page