top of page

Interview: Gospel Recording Artist, J Windsor


I have met quiet a few entertainers from various genres, and a handful have shown true integrity and humility. Putting God first hasn't been what I have seen in some artists, but I found it very refreshing to listen to J. Windsor on Jerry Royce Live XXI. J. Windsor had such a servant's heart! He was poised, professional and could not stop giving God all the glory. He drew me in like a magnet because of his love for the Lord. He wasn't boastful, nor did he brag about his success. I recently became aware of J. Windsor through the introduction by Carlton McConnell, CEO of Round The Clock Entertainment.

J. Windsor has traveled internationally with some of the greats like Minister Byron Cage, for whom he facilitated an 2009 internationally known musical workshop in Paris. Karen Clark Shears as well as Marvin Winans, Tye Tribbet, and Pastor Charles Jenkins were featured on Windsor's album "Faithful to Believe in Detroit, Michigan"; there was also the "Memoirs of a Worshiper" album, which featured Fred Hammond. The recording had taken place in Chicago, Illinois and J. Windsor worked with the vocal arranger, Dwayne Woods, on both albums.

J. Windsor's accolades are vast, and after listening to him on the radio, I can see why God has richly awarded him.

Windsor has shown forth his gifts, and they made room for him to share the stage with gospel recording artists Kim Burrell, Dave Hollister, and Kirk Franklin. In 2018, J. Windsor had barely made it into the 3rd month of the year, and he was already blessed to open for Dr. Ricky Dillard in Fayetteville, NC. Shortly after he opened for Mr. Dillard, J. Windsor released his own debut album, "Transparency of Worship".

As with most artists, there is that one song that stands out from the rest, and for Windsor it is "He That Dwells" (Live).

In this interview I wanted our readers to know how J. Windsor got started and he started singing at the tender age of 3, in fact his mother said he started singing before you could walk. At a young age his musical ear was drawn to Hall & Oats and his favorite song is 'Sarah's Smile'. I was so surprised, because Sarah's Smile was one of my all time favorite songs as well!

J. loves jazz and several genres of music such as real R & B (as he put it), Commodores, Stevie Wonder, Jeffrey Osborne, New Edition, Tevin Campbell, Prince "I Will Die For You" (J. said if you listen Prince was ministering) and Earth Wind & Fire. Yes J, I have to agree with you, these are some great groups that played real music.

J. Windsor the multi-talented artist also is a prolific song writer, who in fact wrote all of the songs on his debut CD"Transparency of Worship", except for the song"My Strength" which was written by Gabriel Swinney. The lead single "He That Dwell's" was written by a then 11 year old J. Windsor after a powerful supernatural experience. In God's timing this song was released some 30 years later, which is phenomenal in its self, in fact it is being well received by radio stations and general public. The lead single "He That Dwells" was birthed during a rebellious time when J. Windsor did not understand how heavy metal and other genres of music can influence ones life and caused him to act out against his parents.

J. had several heavy metal music groups posters on his bedroom wall. His mom came into his room and said, "We have to pray this out of you". Thank God for a praying mom! J's mom knew it wasn't her son and when they prayed in his room the lights went out, but the lights in the rest of the house stayed on. When the lights in J's room came back on, every poster was on the floor! Wow! Sid Roth should have J. come on his show "It's Supernatural".

"He That Dwells" was first written as a Ballad and later, it became a gospel song and he taught it to a praise and worship group. "Genesis says, we were created in His image and His likeness, so should everything we do, even our mannerism and looks", J. said.

J. Windsor was recently on All Nations Radio a Steller Award winning station and shared with Bishop McGill, that feelings come and go. J. said, there are two times to praise God: when you feel like it and when you don't feel like it.

One of J. Windsor's favorite gospel songs that he likes to sing is "I Do Worship", by John P. Kee. The song resonates with J because it talks about why we were created.

J. describes his style of music as praise and worship without limitations. Why?

"Sometimes in church we quench the holy spirit, because we have a time or schedule. The holy spirit created time and we quench what he gave us, time", said J.

I could tell by the way J. spoke that he was a minister. What I wanted to know was in what depth or capacity did J. minister. When asked, J. said, I excepted my calling and became licensed at age of 18. I was ordained at the age of 31. He was taught by Pastor Earnest Snead, in Fort Mitchell, Alabama.

"In between becoming licensed, I relocated to New York in September around 1995, and I became the youth pastor. In 2004, I relocated to Alabama, and my spiritual father became sick. He asked if I was ordained yet. I said no. If anyone should have ordained me, it was him. He ordained me before he died. Many pastors wanted to ordain me , but I didn't feel released to let them. Since then, I have been running from the office of a pastor, sprinting like Carl Lewis, ha ha!

After ministering at a local church, and on the way to grab a bite to eat, my wife said, it's time to stop running and start our church. It had become apparent to me that I should pastor, said J. Windsor.

J. recently kicked off his promotional tour to sing at churches throughout Georgia and neighboring states. His first engagement on the tour is at Mount Olive Baptist Church, Phoenix City, Alabama, (Dr. Patrick T. Brown, Sr. Pastor). He is looking to partner with a non-profit to help expand his tour.

One of J's aspirations would be to on stage with John P Kee, whose music has been instrumental in J's gospel career. As a kid I would use my allowance to buy his music and I would often study his writing style. John P Kee wore an olive green colored blazer and I wanted one too. I asked my mom to make me one just like it and as a skillful seamstress she was able to make it.

J. wanted to share this advice to up-coming recording artists, "Remember that the gift was given from God to you, but not for you. Sometimes we look at the parable of the talents, talk about what each did with their talents. It was great they multiplied, but who did they multiply it for? The recipients of the fish and bread was not the multiplying, it was the disciples giving it out. The question is who is going to benefit"? Preach Pastor Windsor

Now most of you know once you get a preacher started there is no designated end, and J offered one more advice that continued his sermon (smiles). "To love God, love self and love others. Loving God should be the most intimate relationship one encounters. I love my wife, children, family and in-laws and I have to love God to love them. Loving myself sounds easy, but we are our worse critics. We know what we have done, but we have to forgive ourselves, as God forgives you. Remember your path hasn't been squeaky clean. We are too focused on our inabilities rather then God's abilities! Example: When I look at Pam Jones, I know God is working through her. I think it is great that I made #78 on the gospel artist radio chart, but have I touched someone? A lady bought the album and it ministered to her and changed her life, and that is more important then being on the chart.

J. Windsor I truly enjoyed interviewing you and hearing you share the gospel, as well as hearing your powerful testimony. I pray that our readers are blessed as much as I was and I pray you have much success with your new album release "Transparency Of Worship".

Pam J

J. WINDSOR

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION:

Single: He That Dwells (Live) Listen now and buy

EP: Transparency of Worship

CD UPC#: 661596966820

Written by: J. Windsor

Genre: Contemporary Gospel

Publishing: Sir Windsor Publishing

Licensing: ASCAP

Label: Windsor House Music Group

Release: March 31, 2018

Carlton McConnell,CEO

Round The Clock Entertainment

Direct(972)834-5936

Roundtheclock.cm@gmail.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page