top of page

Interview: Award Winning Gospel Recording Artist, Marlon McDaniel


Many of us have heard similar stories about singers that dreamed of becoming famous artists. I can recall wanting to be a famous dancer...and I’m still dreaming. Ha-ha! In Marlon McDaniel's case, he never wanted to become famous, nor did he think he could sing. Marlon's recent success caught him off guard because he was just singing at his church and as a hobby; but had no plans of making it a career choice.

"The recording was to be a one-time experience; in and out, that's it", said Marlon.

I was shocked to hear how Marlon really felt about singing! Yet, as many of you know, God always has a plan that we know nothing about, and without warning you will find yourself on a platform you did not ask for!

Marlon, a current member of the Houston Alliance of Gospel Music Professionals, was so impacted by the information he received from his first meeting with them in January 2018 that he joined on the spot. “I met Yolanda Adams, Chris Walker and other great people in the industry. Everyone was so nice to me. Pam, I am new at this. I’m a sponge, so to be able to soak up the wisdom from legends like V. Michael McKay who wrote “All In His Hands,” “The Battle Is The Lord’s” and “The Potter’s House” is priceless. I need the benefit of his experience and wisdom!

In June 2018, Marlon McDaniel received the award for Best Performance By Male Artist at the Rhythm Of Gospel Awards. When I asked him how that came about, he said, "The panel of judges made that decision. I would imagine they listened to my songs and reviewed several of my videos. I’m not sure but I know it wasn't by popular votes".

Marlon also won the ROG Praise & Worship Male Vocalist of the Year. I found Marlon to be a very humble and talented gentleman with great manners. With all that Marlon represents, he still never thought he was good enough, but he said the awards have boosted his self-esteem. "I knew I had an ear for music and could hold a note, but I didn’t feel I was good enough to get the mic and be the center of attention," Marlon said.

I remember meeting Marlon McDaniel at Center Stage Gallery on Hwy 6 in Sugar Land, TX. I was invited to the Gospel At The Gallery event by Amanda Sapp to write an article. I saw Marlon as soon as I walked in, so I introduced myself and he was so excited to meet me. His joy is contagious!

Marlon and I shared a moment while streaming on Facebook Live before he made his way around the room. Eventually, it was Marlon's time to sing, and oh my gosh he could sing! I was shocked at how good he was, because I felt he had such a humble spirit and a kind of unsure shyness.

Marlon recalled being forced to sing at his uncle’s funeral as perhaps his discovery. After the funeral, his brother, an assistant pastor at the time, said "I didn't know you could sing.” He then asked him to sing at his church’s musical program the next Friday night. Marlon said he told his brother he would let him know. That Monday morning, he was playing the Lawrence

Matthews tune, “All I Have” as he dressed for school. He then noticed he could sing the notes of this song with ease which made him feel comfortable enough to sing that song at the musical that Friday night.

During his college years at Northern Kentucky University, Marlon envisioned himself working with singers at church, so he chose Vocal Training courses as electives to help equip him for the task. Marlon recalls singing “Amazing Grace” in his Group Voice Recital. He was so afraid he would give a bad performance that he didn't invite his family. However, the audience clapped and cheered for him, so he said, "I guess it must have been good.” But, Marlon did not think he was good enough. After a rigorous audition he was selected to be part of the Vocal Jazz Ensemble. Marlon also took a course with voice instructor, Lee Hoffman, who encouraged him to pursue a career in music. She told him, “You could do it. You have potential!" Yet, Marlon still didn't believe he had a voice people would want to hear, so he did not pursue music. I can't help but wonder how such a talented and gifted young man arrived at feeling he wasn't ever good enough.

Marlon often made the mistake that many recording artists make, and that is comparing themselves to other singers. "I always felt that I couldn't sing like other popular singers/recording artists.” Marlon said, “I did not like my voice. But, over the years I realized comparing paralyzes. Well said Marlon!

He couldn't sing high notes, but his singing voice is attractively raspy and heavy, yet he still felt he couldn’t be good enough. Marlon, however, had a significant amount of singing potential even at an early age. He sang in the Junior Chorale at the age of 5 years old and was accepted into the Youth and Young Adult Choir at age 13 under the direction of gospel recording artist, Rodney Posey.

Marlon grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio, in a “gospel only” household where he was exposed to such legends as Dr. Mattie Moss Clark, the Clark Sisters, Walter Hawkins and Andrae Crouch. When he was 5 years old, he gave his life to God after listening to Andrae Crouch's song "It Won't Be Long.”

Marlon, the son of a Church Of God In Christ preacher, appreciates his upbringing. He was taught to be faithful to his church, live holy before God and be a good example before others. Marlon believes that he would fail without God. He says, "Without Him I can do nothing." It was the year 2010 when he discovered he could write songs. After leading worship for 5 years, it was 2014 when Marlon really began to own his voice.

Two years later, Marlon wrote the ballad "With All My Heart," which would become the title of his debut EP. Marlon said, “I had no idea of the impact this song would have when it was released.” It is a declaration of the worshiper’s love for The One who loves us most. After the song was warmly received during his Phoenix & LA tour in January 2017, Marlon finally acknowledged that God had given him a gift to minister in song. Congrats to you sir!

In closing, I asked Marlon to offer some trial and error experience which got him where he is today: a double Rhythm of Gospel Award winner and a Gospel Image Award nominee. Marlon had this to say to upcoming artists: "Bathe the songs in prayer and ask God to bless your work. We should pray and ask God what He wants us to do or share. Get understanding and get real knowledge. Things will change but God doesn't change".

I was really getting into what Marlon was saying and I added, ‘the melody might change, the lyrics might change, but the notes stay the same’.

I know Marlon is an excellent singer, even though he still gets scared, and more than music he wants to live a life of excellence that pleases God and inspires God's people.

Well Marlon, I, for one, think you are a fine example of a good Godly character that represents His Kingdom!

I want to extend an open invitation for you to be in River & Word anytime. We've got you covered!

God bless and thank you for sharing your testimony, experience and even being transparently real!

Pam J


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page